Semester Goals

It’s always good to have goals. I constantly need to aim for something. I use lists and schedules and more lists to get me through life. But in all honesty, I have no idea what to expect of myself here. This is entirely new. Where should I even be aiming? What’s a reasonable goal?

Like I said…I don’t have a clue.

Still, I want to attempt to give myself some sort of structure for the next several months. So here’s what I can come up with:

  1. 5-year plan. I hope to have something hammered out (hopefully something flexible because, of course, things change) soon. I want to map out a track to stay on to complete all the required courses and everything with my degrees in mind, etc. I can do this with the help of my adviser, of course.
  2. Get involved. I want to join a few activities – education related, Spanish related, service related, etc. I’ve already gone to an activities fair and intend to go to some meetings next week, where I can potentially join some clubs. I’d like to be involved in 2-5. I don’t know what I’ll be able to handle exactly, so the range is definitely necessary.
  3. Have fun. Make friends. Enjoy yourself. ‘Nuff said.
  4. Good grades. I’d really like to start strong. Although I can already tell how challenging my classes are and how unlikely it is that I will continue my lifelong streak of straight A’s. My goal is to have 3 As and 2 Bs or better. We’ll see…
  5. Hit the ground running. Go with the flow. Roll with the punches. Just keep truckin’. Since I’m so unsure of what will come at me, this is all I can really say. Whatever it is – whether it be related to grades, social life, extracurricular activities, personal obstacles, life crises of any sort, etc… I need to just keep going. There’s always a way and I’m determined to find it eventually.

I’m nervous but excited. That’s kind of been my emotions in a nutshell for the last couple of months.

Stay tuned to see how this goes, feel free to comment, and thanks for reading!

Share Your Thoughts

